JERSEY DETECTING SOCIETY
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to Detecting

3 posters

Go down

New to Detecting Empty New to Detecting

Post  Nederlander Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:14 pm

Hi all,

Fairly new to the island and a total novice to detecting Very Happy

My missus bought me a Garrett Ace250 for my Christmas and I'm having a couple of issues setting it up and understanding how it works.

Had it out in my garden the other day and was on St Ouens beach with it today but not having much success.

Also what is the situatin with detecting on the beach? I understand that I need a permit or something?

Any advice appreciated.

Nederlander

Back to top Go down

New to Detecting Empty Re: New to Detecting

Post  davey Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:02 pm

Welcome to the site, you've got a good machine there according to my son-inlaw who own's one as well, as for beaches I only do St. Brelade now and again I much prefer inland detecting.

davey

Back to top Go down

Post  davey Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:21 pm

Have a look on youtube for setting up your detector.

davey

Back to top Go down

Post  ken Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:15 pm

No permit needed, but anything modern of value found should be reported to the police by law, it is usually treated as lost property and after two or three months becomes yours. legally anything made of precious metal and of antiquity found is the property of the crown, but if you report finds to Olga at the museum you should get it back to keep, unless it is really special in which case they will ask to loan it, or for you to gift it to the societte collection etc.
ask Rob the site admin if you have any other questions or come to our next meeting, it is informal and we usually just look at finds made during the month since the last meet, ocasionally we have some serious business but not often, we just enjoy a couple of pints and discuss finds. Very Happy Very Happy
ken
ken

Back to top Go down